Catalog 2021-22 
    Jul 12, 2024  
Catalog 2021-22 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Board of Education

The Klamath Community College Board of Education is comprised of seven elected voting members and one non-voting student representative. It has primary authority for establishing policies governing the College’s operations, as well as adopting the annual budget. The Board is charged with responsibility for overseeing the development of programs and services that it believes will appropriately serve the needs of those residing within the College’s service district.


Kate Marquez, Real Estate Renovations.

Term began July 2017. Term expires June 2021.

Zone 1 - North Klamath





Kenneth DeCrans, Computer Drafter.

Term began July 2019. Term expires June 2023.

Zone 2 - Northeast Klamath





Michael Fitzgerald, Retired. 

Term began July 2011. Term expires June 2021.

Zone 3 - Southeast Klamath





Dave Jensen, Retired.

Term began July 2009. Term expires June 2023.

Zone 4 - South Klamath







Term expires June 2021.

Zone 5 - East Klamath





Helen Petersen, Student.

Term began July 2019. Term expires June 2023.

Zone 6 - At-Large






Term expires June 2021.

Zone 7 - At-Large





Crystal Rice, ASKCC President.

Term began July 2020. Term expires June 2021.

Non-Voting Student Representative



Oregon State Board of Education

As one of the state’s 17 publicly supported community college districts, KCC operates under the general direction of the Oregon State Board of Education: Anthony Veliz (5th Congressional District); Kimberly Howard (3rd Congressional District); Jerome Colonna (2nd Congressional District); George Russell (At Large); Bridgett Wheeler (At Large); Jennifer Scurlock (At Large) and Guadalupe Martinez Zapata (At Large).

In addition, the State Department of Education administration includes Colt Gill (Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction and Director of the Oregon Department of Education) and Patrick Crane (Director, Office of Community Colleges and Workforce Development). 


Advisory Committees

More than 70 volunteers are appointed to more than 15 advisory committees, which offer professional advice and support to instructional programs, enabling the College to align its programs to current workplace practices and employment opportunities.  All career and technical programs have advisory committees. 



The Klamath Community College Foundation raises and invests funds for college programs, scholarships, and capital needs.

Program Support

Because the State of Oregon provides only part of the funding that is needed to finance instructional programs, donations from businesses and individuals are vital to support KCC’s ability to provide education and training to more than 5,000 students each year.


The Foundation solicits funds for scholarships, which allow many individuals to attend college who might not otherwise have the financial means to do so. Tax-deductible gifts to support KCC programs and students should be made payable to: Klamath Community College Foundation, 7390 South Sixth Street, Klamath Falls, OR  97603. Call 541-880-2234 for more information.

Foundation Board   

The KCC Foundation Board consists of the following members: Steve Tippin (Chair); Judy Henn; (Vice Chair); Dawna Oksen (Treasurer); Dr. Scott Powell (Board Member); Carlos Soriano (Board Member); Victoria Flowers (Board Member); Marcus Henderson (Board Member); Morgan Lindsay (Board Member); Jean Pinniger (Associate Member); Jim Bellet (Emeritus Member); and Kenneth DeCrans (Board of Education Liaison).